Y.O.L.O! Mom on the Go…

23 Jul

Y.O.L.O!  Mom on the go….

Recently, my Dad turned 75 and told me that on his birthday, he reflected back on his 75 years of life and concluded that he was very satisfied with his life…that there were a few small things that he would have done differently….but that all in all, he looked back on a fulfilling life without regret.  This is a man who was very fortunate to travel the world for his work, to see and experience many wonderful things, and to this day still lives by the motto: Carpe Diem!

Image

He certainly passed the travel bug on to me, taking me all around Europe on wonderful family vacations, always with the mission to show my sister and me that the world was bigger than “Berkel-Enschot” (the small town in the Netherlands where I was raised). So, after high school, I went off to the South of France to learn another language and met my wonderful husband Anthony from Canada.  Together, we continue and  had some of our best times travelling and experiencing life together.  Our long-term goal: To one day travel the world.

So now, at our “midlife inspiration” point, that day has come! We are travelling the world for a year with our two sons: Emile who is almost 10 and Felix (Filou) who is 8. Our journey will start with some family time in Eastern Canada and Europe, then onto China, South-East Asia, New Zealand, Japan and Latin America. I have yet to really grasp what this year will hold for the four of us, but of one thing I am sure: When I am 75, I want to look back on a life well lived, without regret – and for me, this trip will certainly help accomplish that mission.

As I write this first blog, we haven’t even left yet, and already we seem to inspire others. How cool!  Friends are telling us that we are encouraging them to follow their dreams, such as opening up their own business; others are motivated to ponder how they might live life differently!  And then there are those who are motivating us to live “a life without regret”, such as the wonderfully jovial and entertaining court judge who was seated next to me at a restaurant bar, there to celebrate Father’s Day. He kept congratulating us for taking this bold step, and at the end of dinner, gave me the biggest hug and whispered in my ear:  “I was just diagnosed with MS and should have done this with my kids when I was younger. Go have a fabulous time and film everything!”

Image

So here it is – a life without regret: Carpe Diem. Or as one cool teenager recently taught me, Y.O.L.O!  You Only Live Once.  So, here I go: Y.O.L.O! Mom On The Go… with my three wonderful men – travelling the world. An absolute dream come true!

14 Responses to “Y.O.L.O! Mom on the Go…”

  1. rosariet July 23, 2013 at 5:41 pm #

    Way to go, Rosie. Loved reading this and it makes me want to read more. Fortunately, I’m right there with you to share this amazing experience.

  2. Anthony July 23, 2013 at 5:43 pm #

    Awesome first blog, Rose. Looking forward to sharing the experience with you!

  3. Henny Groenendijk-Baljet July 23, 2013 at 7:25 pm #

    My dear Rose and Anthony,
    Congratulations on taking the bold step, fantastic, indeed you inspire us.
    Goede reis, Happy travels, hug from Henny, Leo, Ben and Tim

  4. Dale Matsushige July 23, 2013 at 8:37 pm #

    Rosie, you are amazing!! You are all amazing!! and I look forward to reading your blog and therefore following your wonderful adventures around the globe!!

  5. Frederique van de Wouw July 23, 2013 at 9:05 pm #

    Carpe diem!! Go for it girl!

  6. Paola July 23, 2013 at 9:09 pm #

    Inspiring to read your first blog. Hope you all will have a great time together and will experience lots of wonderful things!

  7. Misao July 24, 2013 at 2:38 am #

    Fabulous Rose! Thank you for sharing this amazing journey with us. I totally look forward to following your adventure!!

  8. C.Swagemakers July 24, 2013 at 8:03 am #

    I read the first blog Fantastic Enjoy your trip seeiing you all in holland August 15 I will alert fam & friends
    Doeii
    Paps

  9. familleYOLO July 24, 2013 at 4:44 pm #

    Really insiring- we will be reading!!!

  10. rosariet July 25, 2013 at 1:23 pm #

    Thanks everyone for your kind comments to my first blog. Excited to continue this process to document our adventure!

  11. Els Mannaerts July 26, 2013 at 5:03 am #

    Wat een fantastische ervaring! Een hele goede reis, ik volg jullie (helaas alleen maar op de computer)

    • rosariet July 29, 2013 at 12:17 pm #

      Leuk dat U ons volgt Mevr. Mannaerts! Hopelijk zien we elkaar in NL bij Tootjo.
      Groetjes, Rosariet

  12. Mies Witteveen van lotringen August 3, 2013 at 9:09 pm #

    Wat geweldig, ik hoor van gia, je moeder elke week hoe jullie het maken engeniet zo mee. Tante mies

    • rosariet August 3, 2013 at 9:12 pm #

      Leuk Tante Miesje, als U mijn blog volgt – krijgt U regelmatig een emailtje van ons met onze avonturen!
      Allerbeste, dikke kus van ons 4. We genieten enorm!

Leave a Reply

